Many Faces of Candice

Getting Healthy & Happy: My Plan to Becoming a Healthier Me

Much like everyone else, my new year’s resolution almost every year is to lose weight. And every year, I fail. Sometimes it’s because I have a lot going on and life gets in the way; sometimes it’s just because I’m lazy and want to eat what I want to eat. In 2010, I actually stuck to my resolution and lost 40 pounds by September. I was feeling great! I looked good, the problems I was having with my knees became non-existent, I stopped having gastrointestinal issues (I know, I know, TMI!), and I had tons of energy. I went from looking like this:

Wedding Shower

To looking like this:

Cruise 2010

Everything was going great until I went on a cruise. I stayed pretty hard core during the cruise, eating healthy and even taking a spin class. When we got home, I got on the scale thinking I at least maintained. I was devastated to learn that I had GAINED 7 pounds. SEVEN POUNDS. I thought it was the end of the world. I told myself that if all I was going to do was gain weight no matter what, that I should at least enjoy what I ate. I’ve always been an emotional eater, and I decided I was going to eat whatever I wanted. And over the past year and a half, I have gained 35 of the 40 pounds back that I lost.

However dumb it might sound that I got so down that I allowed it to destroy me, it happened. And I imagine it happens to a lot of women.

I’m glad I had that experience, because this time, my new year’s resolution is different. I’ve learned the lesson that 7 pounds, as much as it seemed to me at the time, is a HELL of a lot easier to lose than 45 pounds! This time around, I will not allow self sabotage.

So, the health mantra I plan to follow is this:

Health Mantra

When I lost weight the first time around, I followed the Fat Loss for Idiots diet. Now, I know that the website is REALLY hokey. When I first found it, I thought it was a scam. Then I started doing research, and I could not find anyone that had said one bad thing about it. So, I splurged the $50 and bought the full system (it’s a one time fee and you get the system for life), including a diet generator that generates a diet for you every 11 days. Using this diet and minimal exercise (all I did was walk for 30 minutes 3-4 times per week, and sometimes less), I was able to lose 40 pounds. So, I’ve decided to try the diet again (especially since I already paid for it). Here’s an example of an 11 day diet from the diet generator: 11 Day Menu Starting 1-14

I’m using a meal planner to keep track of what I’m supposed to eat each day and to help make a grocery list: Meal Planner   P.S. – I have on there to drink 1C grapefruit juice with apple cider vinegar and honey in it before every meal. I tried it, and it’s absolutely disgusting. No way I could drink it once, much less before every meal. Apple cider vinegar *is* supposed to have fabulous effects on your body; however, nothing to me is worth that nastiness. If you want to try it, though, more power to you!

I also have a goal to drink 80 ounces of water per day (that’s five 16 ounce bottles of water) and to give up soft drinks (I hope I don’t die without my Diet Coke!). On Pinterest, I discovered this site that gives all the great benefits of honey and cinnamon (again, I know it looks hokey!). So, I am taking its weight loss advice and drinking a cup of boiling water with 1 tsp honey and 1 tsp regular cinnamon powder (NOT cinnamon sugar) twice per day – first thing in the morning and last thing before bed. I drank a cup this morning, and it’s actually pretty good! It’s pretty much cinnamon tea. After about a week, I will let you know if it’s really as beneficial as the site makes it sound.

As far as exercise, earlier this year I discovered Jazzercise, which I always thought was an old lady thing. It’s really not and actually really fun! I’ve always hated traditional gyms because I find it so boring to walk on a treadmill or ride a stationary bike, and I was also always self-conscious about all the fitness nuts in there looking at me like I was a beached whale flopping on the shore as I bounced up and down. I always felt like they were secretly making fun of me in the locker room. Jazzercise is definitely not like that! There are women of all shapes and sizes, and I find it to be a very supportive and fun environment. Plus, it’s only $38 per month, which I find pretty cost effective considering the prices of most gyms out there. I belong to the Kenner Jazzercise on Williams Blvd. close to Joe Yenni. My plan is to attend Jazzercise classes 4-5 times per week and to walk 2 miles the other 1-2 times per week, giving myself one rest day.

I’m using an exercise planner to keep myself on track: Exercise Plan Template   I used the advice from this site regarding what to eat before and after a workout and added it to the template.

The last thing I’ve decided to do, which I also found on Pinterest, is to try Jillian Michaels’s 7 day body cleanse. I feel like I need a good kick-start and this might be just the thing. Here is the recipe:

  • 60 oz. of distilled or pure water
  • 1 tbsp of sugar free cranberry juice
  • 1 dandelion root tea bag (I found this with the other teas at Rouse’s, our local grocery store)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

You’re supposed to drink 60 oz. per day for 7 days, and it helps flush out excess water weight. You can drink this along with eating your normal diet. I mixed up some of this concoction tonight to start drinking tomorrow. This is what 60 oz. looks like:

Cleanse Concoction

It just tastes like water with lemon pretty much. I couldn’t taste the dandelion or cranberry because it’s diluted in so much water. Definitely something that I can drink for 7 days! It’s supposed to help you lose 5-6 pounds over the course of the 7 days and flatten your tummy because it decreases bloating. I will report my progress over the course of the 7 days and let you know if it works! *NOTE* This concoction is a diuretic, so if you’re already taking diuretics or have kidney disease, please don’t try it. Also, if you have any conditions that you take medications for, please consult your doctor before adding anything with diuretic effects to your regimen. You also shouldn’t do this cleanse more than once every 4 months or so. It’s definitely not something to continuously do, as it could cause issues.

Total cost about $10 ($3 for the cranberry juice, $3 for the lemon juice [I got a big bottle of it], and about $4 for the tea [about 30 bags]). You can do the cleanse 4-5 times with these supplies.

Overall, I think I have a pretty solid plan for a healthy year! I will report back periodically to let you know how it’s going. Do any of you have weight loss resolutions? Have you tried in the past and miserably failed like I did? Are you a health/fitness nut? I would love you to share your story!

Whatcha have to say?

